Ellie Elise

READ, WRITE, EAT, SLEEP, REPEAT.

Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1) by J.R. Johansson

To start off my book reviews I’ve decided to begin with a book that I just can’t say enough good about. The book is Insomnia, a psychological thriller written by J.R. Johansson. It is her debut and can I just say: “Wow! What a debut!”

I read this book when it first came out in June 2013. One of the first things I can say about it was that I was so sad that the next book wasn’t coming out until June 2014. Now that June 2014 is almost here I am SO stoked! Mark your calendars, people!

I thought this book was hands-down amazing. It even blew my mind in several parts….and I’m not easily surprised. Pardon the cliché, but I love how the book isn’t your run-of-the-mill thriller novel because it truly gave me insomnia. I stayed up all night reading it because I couldn’t put it down. If you’re low on will power when it comes to a good book, make sure you don’t need to be super awake the next day because you’ll be up reading all night!

I enjoyed how I suspected every character at some point. The storyline really kept me guessing. The story is very intense in some parts and includes what some would consider disturbing scenes. If you are upper high school age to adult you are sure to enjoy this if you are looking for a blood-pumping-thrill of a read. I would compare this to a TV-14 or a mild PG-13 movie. Insomnia is true to it’s psychological thriller genre and does not disappoint!

I’m giving this book 5 out of 5 stars because it definitely deserves it. I don’t often give books five stars but after I couldn’t put it down and can hardly wait for the sequel I consider Insomnia five star material!

Look for the sequel, Paranoia, coming in June 2014.

You can purchase Insomnia here:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0738735930

http://m.barnesandnoble.com/w/insomnia-j-r-johansson/1113713840?ean=9780738735931

2 comments on “Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1) by J.R. Johansson

  1. Alexia Jones 13th Matron
    March 21, 2014

    Intrigued by your review, I’ve just downloaded a sample of this book to my Kindle.

    • Ellie
      March 21, 2014

      I hope you like it! I’m a total sucker for a good thriller.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow Ellie Elise on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Follow Ellie on Twitter

Goodreads

Archives

